The Chaos of Stars by Kiersten White

12578305

I didn’t think I’d hate a character like Isadora, considering I absolutely adore the entire concept, but she’s so easy to hate. She’s whiny, she thinks she knows better, she’s completely obsessed with being the center of her family’s attention and fails to comprehend a lot of things that are kind of self explanatory. The whole building her tomb thing is completely morbid, of course, but I feel that if she’s so set in her Egyptian roots (once she finally moves to San Diego it becomes more obvious) she should understand that pharaohs did this, only the most influential people were offered what Isadora is being given. Her parents are treating her like royalty yet she still complains! But I guess learning that your aunts, uncles, parents, assorted relatives were immortal and she was not was a big blow to take.

The introduction of Ry was super obvious that the Greek pantheon was going to be introduced in some way. The whole olive skin, curls, super blue eyes, was so obvious that I’m annoyed that Isadora didn’t get it right away.

And she ignores her dreams! She comes from a family that believes in dreams and she completely ignores them and it’s so irritating! It’s so obvious the shadow means her mom is being forgotten as a goddess or that something horrible is going to happen but she’s so set on hating her parents that she ignores everything! Ugh! As someone that comes from a Hispanic background I know the importance of nightmares and telling them to someone if not for the whole superstition bit but because it will make the person having the nightmare feel better. I know that once I tell someone that I might have had a horrible dream about them on more than one night and they know about it the nightmares stop.

I’m not even going to get started on the fact that she got to decorate/design a museum room for an exhibition and that no one said anything, they just went along with it. Was it because the artifacts belonged to her mother? Was it because they were humoring her? What sixteen-year-old girl gets handed a big project like this with basically no help from anyone? She had to ask her friends in order to get this project done. I’m not an expert on how museums run but I’m pretty sure this is not how it’s done.

At the end of the day this book had more cons than pros and I’m afraid I’m going to have to give it 2 stars out of 5. It’s not one star mostly because I still enjoyed the premise of it and the sort of confrontation that occurred wasn’t horrendous (I’ve read worse). It could be better and I feel like if given a choice and if this had been a series that I’d probably read the next one just to see how things worked out with all the characters. And I absolutely love the entire idea of the old gods and goddesses still having children in the modern age and living amongst the normal people… I guess I can read Percy Jackson and the Olympians to get my fix of gods and goddesses.

***

2 out of 5 stars because I liked the idea of the book and because of the gorgeous cover. Better off just reading Percy Jackson and the Olympians to get your gods and goddess fix 🙂

Happy Spoilers,
WSA

Leave a Reply

