Book Haul Addiction- A Confession

IMG_1514 (1)

This might not come to a surprise to anyone but I absolutely love buying books. I’m aware that I can only read so many books and that I only have so much space in my corner of the room for only so many books…. but it’s like an addiction I can’t get rid of. As it is this post is going to be image heavy and full of my latest book shopping frenzy the last couple of months. It’s not as bad as other people’s book-buying addiction but it’s certainly a little daunting considering what little space I have for the books I currently have let alone more.

I’ll start off with my library haul since it’s fairly small. I’ve been in the mood to read graphic novels a lot this year and I find them to be nice and quick reads in between the books I’m reading. I’m lucky enough to live a ten minute walk away from my local library and living in NYC is awesome enough that I have access to any library no matter where I go in the city.

IMG_1517

I started reading The Walking Dead since I hadn’t read it since my senior year of high good school, right before the show started so I thought to give it another try. Since Captain America: Civil War is coming up I decided to give the Cap a try. Magneto is definitely one of my favorite villains and it’ll be interesting to see how he fares as one of the good guys… obviously in his own villainous way.

I’ve heard so many good things about Tess Gerritsen that I decided to finally pick up one of her medical thrillers. The book actually has two stories: Call After Midnight and Under the Knife. The stories are also romance (because who doesn’t need romance while trying to catch a killer?).

I’ve read JR Ward’s Dark Lover but since I picked up the new side series Blood Kiss I thought it would be a good idea to get me reacquainted with the characters in the Black Dagger Brotherhood series. From what I understand Blood Kiss can definitely be read without having read the rest of the series but it’s nice to at least know who the people in the background are.

This is not my first time picking up Once Burned by Jeaniene Frost but every time I finally get around to reading it I always have to return it to the library. Let’s hope that this time I finally get to read it without any issues or without getting distracted. Growl is a compilation of werewolf stories. There’s always love for vampires but hardly any for werewolves so I have high hopes for it.

IMG_1361

Oh goodness. It’s hard to figure out a way to explain why exactly I got this but I’ll try my best!
When I was an 8th grader dealing with high school applications I wasn’t really all that confident about what to write in those required essays they always put in. I’ve always been awkward and the only way I knew how to communicate was through books, so I wrote about books. More specifically I wrote about the series that had taken up most of my imagination that all I could talk about was the series and all that I could find relatable was the series. Flashforward to last year when I finally figured out that the author of the most influential series in my life (other than JK Rowling) was on social media, get this!, still writing the series I had been obsessed with as a child. I searched high and low for the entire series and could never find it in the mass paperback edition that I had back in 8th grade, so I kept searching. Ebay finally came through and I was able to get all current nine books in the mass market paperback edition I was obsessed with as a child. And they’re all in pristine condition!!! I can’t wait until the 10th book is in paperback so it can join the rest of the series. As it is, my childhood dream of owning this series is finally complete.

IMG_1509

I was interested in getting Immaculate by Katelyn Detweiler because I was going to go to an author signing at Books of Wonder on March 20th but I second-guessed myself so much that I didn’t get it there and instead got it at The Strand three hours later -.- (More about the Books of Wonder signing later). Prince’s Gambit and Kings Rising by CS Pacat were actually a rush buy because I read the first book in the series in one sitting and I desperately needed to read the other two as soon as humanly possible.

Zodiac by Romina Russell, These Vicious Mask by Kelly Zekas and Tarun Shanker, Mister Monday by Garth Nix, and Madame Bovary by Gustave Flaubert were all impulse buy from The Strand after getting filled up on mashed potatoes… I was in the neighborhood and I wasn’t going to let it go to waste.

I got Miss Peregrine’s at Target a couple of weeks ago when I finally saw the trailer for the movie and freaked out at how absolutely amazeballs it was. If you haven’t seen the trailer or read the book series I highly recommend it.

I follow Oftomes Publishing on Instagram (@oftomes) and they kept posting pics of The Awakened by Sara Elizabeth Santana and New World Rising by Jennifer Wilson and I got interested enough to go look for these books on Amazon. The Awakened is a zombie apocalypse story and since I was in such a Walking Dead mood I decided to pick it up. New World Rising is about a girl named Phoenix and surviving a world whose rules are basically ‘join or die’. I was super ecstatic when I finally got these books from Amazon to learn that they have that lovely velvety feel that I adore in books. I’m a complete sucker for textured books. If I don’t judge a book by it’s cover then I judge it by how nice the cover feels. Have any of you read anything from Oftomes Publishing?

FullSizeRender

At the signing at Books of Wonder I was a little iffy about going because of my weird social anxiety but I managed to get a couple of books signed and I bought one while I was there. The Serpent King by Jeff Zentner was actually the Owlcrate book for March and it came just in time for me to get the book signed and the author was absolutely lovely about it and super excited to see an Owlcrate subscriber.

I had already owned and read Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon and The 100 by Kass Morgan but I wanted to get them signed so I was excited to finally see them at an event where I could get it done. It is absolutely necessary that everyone should read Nicola Yoon’s book because it is possibly my most favorite book that I read in 2015 and I’m so pumped for her newest book coming soon.

I bought Anything Could Happen by Will Walton because it really interested me once I read the summary. The author was super nice and kind of shy but he was lovely and was happy enough to sign my book even though I was one of the few people that hadn’t yet read it.

I got The Glittering Court by Richelle Mead at Target a couple of days ago because I loved the cover and because I wasn’t able to attend the signing that she was doing in the city. I have yet to read it and look forward to diving into another Richelle Mead book.

IMG_1507

Last but not least is the books I got at work! I work in a thrift shop and usually we get a lot of books (more often than not the books are about a year or so old so they’re not new releases). These I got Friday night, which is why they still have the price tags on them. At one to three dollars a book I didn’t see any reason to get just a small amount so I splurge a little… the thrift shop is the reason I don’t have any space in my room for any new books. The only books I’ve read from this pile are A Great and Terrible Beauty series by Libba Bray, who was my hero in high school.

If any of you want any more info on the thrift shop they have a facebook: Thriftland USA and they post what sales they have on social media. There’s a large selection of DVDs and children’s books as well, though it’s primarily a clothes shop.


Well, that’s it for my ridiculous long post! Hopefully you made it through the entire post and didn’t die of boredom. What new books have you gotten lately? What books from my giant haul over the last couple of months have you read?

All the best!
Carleny (WSA)

2 thoughts on “Book Haul Addiction- A Confession

Leave a Reply

