May Wrap Up

Even though May isn’t over I’m going to post the wrap up before I forget to do it. This month has been ridiculously productive for me and I’ve managed to read a lot more than my usual.

May, it seems, was the month of audiobooks for me. I managed to listen to a total of four books and loved all of them! I didn’t think I would actually enjoy audiobooks because every other time I’ve listened to them in the past I’ve fallen asleep. It turns out that if you’re one of those people that needs to be sitting down to read a book that maybe audiobooks might be best while you’re doing something productive like cleaning or working out.


I actually listened to Lightning Thief and Sea of Monsters within four days while on the bus and walking. These were fairly quick and I liked the voice actor for it; my only complaint is that the voice actor changed the way he pronounced Thalia’s name from one book to the other. As a Spanish speaker I liked how he pronounced it in the first book: exactly how it’s spelled. In the second book he pronounced it as Thay-lia and it messed with my head a little. I won’t be doing reviews for any Percy Jackson book because they are my ‘for fun’ books– no note taking, no analyzing, no figuring out what the ultimate goal is… though it should be noted that Percy is as much a sass machine as advertised.


I started Magonia as I decided to clean my bookshelves on Wednesday and so far I like it though I don’t know how I feel about it because the premise is so good (magical bird people!), but the delivery is a little iffy. I love the main characters and I’m hoping (probably in vain) that there isn’t a love triangle between Aza, the human cutie Jason, and the bird-boy cutie Dai. Aza started off so strong and now that she’s being introduced to a new world she seems like a shell of her former self. Well, I have another four hours of listening to look forward to as well as the sequel so I can form my opinions on Aza and the others then. Look out in the next two weeks for a review of Magonia.


I got this book on a whim last month mostly because I follow the publishing company on Instagram. I absolutely loved it and won’t say more on it because I will be putting up a review of it within the week. I will be reading the sequel to this book, New World: Ashes, on my flight to Minnesota since it comes out on the same day.


Delirium by Lauren Oliver was from the beginning a good book but I felt that the more I read the longer this book seemed to get. Pretty soon having to read this turned out to be a chore and I stopped reading it (that’s when I became obsessed with the audiobooks). This is the first book of the year that I’ll have to DNF but not permanently; I think I’ll pick it up again (either in audiobook format or the actual book because the Ebook isn’t doing anything for me).

****

Here’s a look at what the summer will look like for me:


Happy reading!

Carleny

Leave a Reply

